The Manifesto.

Wikipedia quotes Tristan Tzara’s (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tristan_Tzara) explanation of the manifesto (Feeble Love & Bitter Love, II) as capturing the spirit of many manifesto’s.

“A manifesto is a communication made to the whole world, whose only pretension is to the discovery of an instant cure for political, astronomical, artistic, parliamentary, agronomical and literary syphilis. It     may be pleasant, and good-natured, it’s always right, it’s strong, vigorous and logical. Apropos of logic, I consider myself very likeable.”

Yes! I too am likeable!!!!

Well if there’s one thing I don’t like to do its talk about myself so I consider myself challenged to come up with a manifesto thats bright, positive, punchy and brilliant… Its entirely possible, I think… umm

So to start I went back to the beginning, we were asked to look at influences and yes I have to acknowledge my parents, Margaret and Pone Utumapu. From very little resources they made so much!  worked multiple jobs to keep us kids fed and clothed, returned to school to get ahead but importantly it was the things money can’t buy that were the most valuable tools that they passed on to me.

  • Respect others and they will respect you
  • work hard, and never give up
  • ask questions, be curious, never stop learning
  • be kind
  • be honest always
  • work hard and never give up
  • live life to the fullest
  • family is everything
  • feed everyone who comes to visit!

I think you get the drift here but mostly I was brought up with the attitude that everyone is equal and if I wanted something badly enough I only had to work hard and I could achieve my dreams.

Well thats what I’m doing now, I don’t want to be famous or rich, but it would be good if it happened.. all I really want to to be able to paint and produce works that bring joy to someone else.

There are two components to this project, the written words and the graphic representation, I’ve made a start on the words and I have an idea or two about the visual… so keep tuned for more…

Just because I hate to not have a beautiful image I’ll leave you with the link to an amazing women artist who embodies the word tenacious! and beautiful and amazing etc.. an incredible story.

carmen_herrera_photo_jason-schmidt
‘DON’T BE INTIMIDATED ABOUT ANYTHING’: CARMEN HERRERA AT 100. Retrieved from http://www.artnews.com/2015/06/05/dont-be-intimidated-about-anything-carmen-herrera-at-100/?utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Weekend+Update+06-06-15&utm_content=Weekend+Update+06-06-15+CID_e1a4e8e53cc8c4156b780fd365bb4d00&utm_source=Email%20marketing%20software&utm_term=DONT%20BE%20INTIMIDATED%20ABOUT%20ANYTHING%20CARMEN%20HERRERA%20AT%20100

 

187950_1140-308x350
Carmen Herrera (b. 1915), Blanco y Verde, 1959. Acrylic on canvas, 68 1/8 × 60 1/2 in. (173 × 153.7 cm). Whitney Museum of American Art, New York; purchase, with funds from the Painting and Sculpture Committee 2014.63 © Carmen Herrera; courtesy Lisson Gallery, London.

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑