Pattern Universe – Final Brief – Models

Hi there, Here are some photos of the model I made as a test run for my actual installation. I was very happy with the overall result, I had some fine details such as what pattern to use if at all and would I print on both sides or just the one side?

Initially I had thought I would either print or cut out ‘Vitruviuan Man’ onto each of the fractals but after talking to Jill I decided that because of the size of the fractal pieces I would lose too much detail.

https://i0.wp.com/www.italian-renaissance-art.com/image-files/441px-da_vinci_vitruve_luc_.jpg
Image of Vitruvian Man by Leonardo DA Vinci. Retrieved from http://www.italian-renaissance-art.com/image-files/441px-da_vinci_vitruve_luc_.jpg

And so the model making begins.

Model-1

Mapping out the design with a compass, thinking about tapas cloth and the nautical compass North, South, East and West.

model-2

Drawing on inspiration from Ernesto Neto.

model-3

Liked the way my pencil marks made another pattern, it looks a little bit technical but not perfect, a little rough around the edges.

model-4

Starting to accumulate a number of different sizes.

model-6

Cutting out he inserts, they make lovely shapes, a curved triangle. I’m thinking at this stage that I want to do something with these extra bits…

model-5

The larger shapes have more definition.

model-7

Starting to put it all together.

model-8

Getting some interesting positive and negative shadows where the light shines or doesn’t…

model-9

My final overall look for the installation. Height and gravity vs static flat. The pattern on one side of the card was from an experiment last year with creating different textures, it looks good on the model but I’m still hooked on Vitruvian Man.

model-10

One thought on “Pattern Universe – Final Brief – Models

Add yours

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑